Things About Guadalajara

Today I was the victim of a vicious attack from a mischievous bottle of hot sauce. I was sitting in the Uma Uma Japanese Kitchen, near downtown Guadalajara. I had ordered a Katsu-don; a dish made of breaded pork and egg sitting on a bed of rice. I was quite happy with it, except for the fact that, in my opinion, it could be spicier.

luckily, there was a tiny little bottle of hot sauce on the table, of which I did not take a picture because writing about it just occurred to me. So I tipped over this marvel of simple mechanics upon my food. It did not release much of the product on my Katsu-don. So I kept squeezing until the cap gave way and I found myself with much more hot sauce than I was expecting on my food.

The rest of the food was a rollecoaster of denial. There was the “It’s probably not that spicy” phase. Then the “I should scrape the excess sauce off” phase. The “Yep, this is much better” phase. And finally the “Holy shit this is spicy” phase.

Beverages, I have found in my travels, are usually the more expensive part of the meal. I found myself with no drink at the half down mark on my Katsu-don. It was an ordeal. Not an impossible one, as I nearly finished it, but an ordeal nonetheless.


It seems like the scarcest of the resources in Guadalajara, like in every big city, are parking spaces. There are a myriad of commercial centers and plazas to choose from, but in each one, except the more expensive ones, you will probably have a hard time parking.

Some places solve this problem by providing underground parking planned at the architectural stage of the structure, however, these are often smaller than need be and you end up with a column where the driver’s door is. Getting out of these parking lots, I assume, is an elaborate game everyone in Guadalajara is playing.


I arrived at the Japenese Kitchen after searching for a tea house that, as I discovered, had closed two years ago. It was not a pleasant experience. I was aching for some good tea.

Good tea, like good coffee, is hard to find. It’s a trial and error endeavor, unless you know a lot of people who also like tea. Also, it is commonly very expensive. When it’s worth it, there’s not much of a problem. When it’s just ok, and you’ve already invested your life savings on a cup, it can be quite frustrating.


People here seem to think that everything is far away. The city is certainly a gargantuan place, with wide roads leading almost everywhere. But still I haven’t been in a real need to go anywhere more than half an hour away from my house, and it has been worth it every time. If the traffic is very intense, you may have some problems. Otherwise, it is very agreeable.

There are some legitimately underground places scattered around Guadalajara. One of the problems is that these places are so underground that they are undetectable through commonplace search tactics. That is, unless you’re friends with someone in the underground circuit, finding them is going to be tough. It’s like a treasure hunt, in all seriousness.

What I mean is: I need some friends in the underground circuit.

Leave a Reply

