An Open Letter To King Tiran From David Marlon

My hamster exploded.

He was small and fragile and he was my only friend. My parents gave him to me as a gift for my fourth birthday. When I was lying in my bed at night, I would let him out of his cage and he would walk around my bed and play with me. I took pictures of him exploring around my sheets. I hugged him. He was not afraid of me. Then he exploded.

My hamster exploded.

Into a thousand million pieces.

Poof.

Blood in my hands and in my hair. Brains in my open mouth. Tiny pieces of stomach and undigested sunflower seeds on my shirt and pants. His eyes on my lap looking at me. Small and fragile. Small and fragile in a thousand million pieces. Small, fragile, his eyes on my lap and his brains in my mouth. Neuronal signals still pulsing through his brain. What just happened. Why am I in pieces. Why did I just explode. David, why did I just explode. Hug me David. I love you David. Why did I explode, David. Tiny pieces of brain in my mouth. Tastes of tiny thoughts and tiny pieces of sunflower seeds he did not get to eat because he exploded.

My hamster exploded.

The first time I met William he said it was sad but awesome. Sad that my hamster exploded. Awesome because I could taste his thoughts. His tiny thoughts. In my dreams. My dreams of him walking on me. My dreams of him exploring. My dreams of him being this tiny creature that loved me because I loved him back. Dreaming of him dreaming of me dreaming of him not exploding. Walking on me. Exploring. Exploding.

Poof.

Because my hamster exploded I wear gloves. Because my hamster exploded I don’t touch people. I’m not antisocial, I just don’t touch people. With my hands. I don’t touch people with my hands because my hamster exploded. I don’t want people to explode so I don’t touch them. I don’t want people to explode like my hamster exploded. I don’t want to taste people’s thoughts like I tasted my hamster’s thoughts. When it exploded. When they explode. What they are thinking when they exploded into a million pieces. Like my hamster.

My hamster exploded.

Rocks explode, but they don’t feel anything. Rocks don’t feel pain. Rocks don’t think about me loving them or being their friend or exploring around and under my sheets. Rocks were not given to me as a gift for my fourth birthday. Rocks don’t walk on me. Rocks are not my friends nor do they have tiny feet. Rocks don’t think about dying or being blasted into a million tiny pieces or what happens after that. Rocks are not my hamster. Rocks are not people. Rocks explode but I don’t care. I can’t taste the rocks. I can’t possibly know what rocks are thinking because rocks don’t think. They don’t think, like my hamster did. My hamster, who I exploded. By accident.

By accident.

It was an accident.

My hamster exploded.

By accident.

I couldn’t control it. I didn’t know I could do it. Explode things. I didn’t know I could do it. I don’t think anyone knew I could do it. Now they know. That’s why I don’t touch them. So they don’t explode. Into a million tiny pieces. A million bigger sized pieces. William says it’s awesome. Says he could use that. In his movement. His revolutionary movement. Tells me to call him “King of the Rays”. He says he can sprout lighting like I can make things explode. With my hands. I say, wouldn’t that make you “King of Lightning”. He says, I prefer it my way. He killed his dog of electroshock when he was six. Like I exploded my hamster. He killed his dog. By accident. He didn’t explode. He just died. His dog, he died. He died by electroshock. Like the electric chair, he says, without the chair. He laughs. It’s a memory. He doesn’t electrocute stuff anymore. Or people. He doesn’t electrocute stuff or animals or people. King of the Rays.

The point is I exploded my hamster.

What I want you to understand is that my hamster exploded.

Poof.

By accident.

Into a thousand million pieces.

But what’s going to happen to you and your kingdom is not going to be an accident.

Leave a Reply

