Not-so-brief Thoughts About Darkness

Our perception of the world is based on light, and still most of us can’t escape darkness. When you close a room, and you imagine the inside of the room, your mind imagines it full of light so you can perceive the details. Reality is, the image in your mind is completely black. When we drink water from a sealed container, we know the water is clear, transparent, and yet, it comes from such a dark place that we probably wouldn’t drink if we imagined it like that.

Little kids are afraid of darkness. Grown people are afraid of closed dark rooms. Old people are afraid of death. It’s all the same thing.

A lake at night is much more terrifying that a lake in broad daylight. You can’t see beneath the water’s surface. What you can’t see, you cannot explain. What you can’t see, you fear.

So much darkness around us and still people fear it.

I’m just walking in the borderline between light and darkness hoping I won’t fall into either one because once you choose one side you can’t see the other.

I’m falling into darkness because darkness loves me and she treats me like a friend.

I’m falling into darkness because all my friends are here: Sorrow, Hatred, Depression and Loneliness.

I’m falling into darkness because my world is based on darkness.

I’m falling into darkness hoping I run into someone like me and we’ll drink our worries away.

Leave a Reply

