Nec-Romancing

Stop. Picture the most romantic moment you’ve had in your entire life. Picture it around you. Picture it inside you. Feel it. Touch it. Smell it. Is it raining? Is it sunny? Is it night time? What are you wearing? What is the other person wearing? Were you alone? Now multiply that moment by a thousand and you have my most romantic moment, only multiplied by a thousand times.

 Now, I’m sure we all tend to drone on about how our perfect match would be like. We all like to spend hour after hour talking about the perfect day with our significant someone, smelling the grass, getting wet in the rain, kissing. I’m not sure if EVERYONE does it, but I know I like to think about it all I can.

The real charm, they say, is when it actually happens. Spontaneous, as all good things present themselves, the perfect moment may not at all be the way you imagined it. It might be sunny, when you wanted rain. It might be daytime, when you wanted night. It might be in a public bathroom in a sports stadium and you may be wearing that ugly t-shirt you only wear to places you know no one you know is going to be at.

Of course, once it happens, it’s like a drug. You can’t get enough of the stuff. You want it to happen again, and again, and again. If you’re like me, once you split with one significant other, you start having desperation attacks. Addicts have them all the time; they call them the Rebound syndrome. It is then that you start looking for other ways to get the drug. In my case that implicates other girls.

But you see, it’s not as easy as those with sex addiction have it. Once you are addicted to romance, having sex or kissing just doesn’t cut it anymore. You need the feeling. You need to be in love. So, if you’re like me, you’ll just choose the girl that best cuts it for you and GO FOR IT. This summer, I probably fell in and out of love 5 times. That’s 5 times I chose a girl, I started imagining a romantic moment, then started imagining getting rejected, like 2 times I ACTUALLY got rejected, and then chose another girl. Do I feel embarrassed or sad? Yeah, okay, maybe I feel a little sad, BUT NOT EMBARRASSED.

I’m on the drug RIGHT NOW.

Leave a Reply

